Enterprise

Every image, everywhere.

Make the switch from an institution-wide image-call to an enterprise-wide image communication.

Multisite

A hospital spread over multiple locations is a particular challenge for organizing workflows and image transfers in radiology. The radiologists’ rotation plan is heavily influenced by the location of the equipment. Most PACS vendors try to remedy this situation by employing complex time dependent routing rules. 

The hospital's dynamic daily routine, however, seldomly conforms to such rigid limits. Unplannable reading is commonplace: A colleague’s consultation at a different location, private patient cases that need to be read by the chief radiologist – these are just a few examples that can’t be captured by a fixed set of rules.

To solve this problem, Digital Medics developed the transfer technology VivoNet. This makes it possible to have a location-independent service model though the universal availability of any chosen imaging data. Even full-motion high-resolution heart catheter films can be accessed with VivoNet from any location with acceptable speed.

This is possible thanks to three aspects of VivoNet’s protocols:

  • Streaming transfer,
  • the proprietary compression mechanism (up to factor 6)
  • and the demand-driven prioritization.

A complete description of this technology is available on the VivoNet product page.

Act now – don’t try to predict your institutions image flow. Instead, use modern technology and today you can save one of your hospital's most valuable resources – the radiologist’s time.

Products used:

Subsequent Treatment and Consultations

Particularly given the background of integrated care, selective data communication between cooperating hospitals is ever more important. The quality of institution-independent provision of health care is essentially dependent on the exchange of data amongst the participating institutions.

Before a patient referral, getting an expert opinion on imaging exams can provide guidance in decisionmaking. After the referral, the additional transmission of imaging data to complete the patient record is even more critical. Furthermore, independent of the referral, second opinions from consultants in cases of unclear diagnoses can benefit the care process.

What these case studies have in common is that in each case, given the organizational separation of partners, it wouldn’t make sense to have unrestricted access to the database of a partner. Rather, the above are singular cases in which short-term decisions must be made. Thus, a mechanism is necessary that lets radiologists manually grant access to partners to single cases, and that such accessibility takes into account the different IT landscapes in the various locations.

Just such a scenario is easy to resolve with Digital Medics’ VivoNet Adapter solution. The VivoNet Adapter broadcasts itself to the home network on both sender and recipient levels as a DICOM-compliant node, and transfers between the participants using the efficient VivoNet Transfer Protocol.

Participating partners now appear as simple DICOM nodes to the PACS. The transfer via encrypted channels and the necessary conversions (DICOM to VivoNet on the sender level, and VivoNet to DICOM on the recipient level) is fully transparent for the user.

No invasive changes to the IT landscapes of the communication partners, no additional sending and receiving software on the users’ workstations. Use the high speed and powerful scalability of VivoNet technology without wasting time on system integration or training, and take an important step towards “integrated care”.

Products used:

Referrer

The smooth transfer of radiology orders and findings between referrers and radiologists plays a critical role in the endurance of the relationship between them. As different as the various referrers can be in their demands, so to must the possibilities in connections be flexible.

Being able to simply and rapidly access your images using the practice’s computers should be just as much an integral part of your radiology services as connecting using a full-scale VivoLab Workstation. In both cases, the referrer has the VivoNet Web interface at their fingertips for placing orders.

Digital Medics offers solutions for all kinds of demands. The spectrum stretches from connecting using the VivoLab Web Viewer using a dedicated VivoLab Workstation, to connecting using a VivoNet Adapter, which can take on large amounts of data quickly and distributes them to the local network.

Products used:

Enterprise

Alle Bilder, Überall

wechseln Sie von einem hausweiten Bildaufruf zu einer unternehmensweiten Bildkommunikation.

Multisite

Ein über mehrere Standorte verteiltes Klinikum stellt eine Herausforderung für die Organisation der Arbeitsabläufe und den Bildtransfer der Radiologie dar. Der Rotationsplan der Radiologen wird zum Großteil von den Aufstellungsorten der Modalitäten bestimmt. Eine standortübergreifende Verfügbarkeit von Bilddaten wird heutzutage über komplexe zeitabhängige Routingregeln im PACS realisiert.

Der dynamische Klinikalltag hält sich jedoch selten an rigide Vorgaben. Befundungen “außer der Reihe” sind an der Tagesordnung: Die Konsultation eines Kollegen am anderen Standort, eine zusätzliche Voruntersuchung für die Verlaufskontrolle, die Befundung von Untersuchungen von Privatpatienten durch den Chefarzt sind nur einige der vielen Beispiele, die durch ein festes Regelwerk nicht abbildbar sind.

Digital Medics entwickelte zur Lösung dieses Problems die Transfertechnologie VivoNet. Diese ermöglicht ein standortübergreifendes Dienstmodell durch die universelle Verfügbarkeit beliebiger Bilddaten zu etablieren. Selbst bewegte hochauflösende Herzkatheterfilme lassen sich mit VivoNet von jedem Ort aus in einer angenehmen Geschwindigkeit aufrufen.

Möglich wird dies durch drei Eigenschaften des VivoNet Protokolls:

  • Dem progressiven Transfer,
  • dem eigenen Kompressionsverfahrens (bis zum Faktor 6)
  • sowie der benutzergesteuerten Priorisierung.

Eine ausführliche Beschreibung dieser Technologie finden Sie auf der VivoNet Produktseite.

Handeln Sie jetzt. Versuchen Sie nicht den Bilddatenfluss von morgen vorherzusagen, setzen Sie vielmehr auf moderne Technologien und sparen so schon heute eine der wertvollsten Klinikresourcen: die Zeit des Radiologen.

Verwendete Produkte:

Weiterbehandlung und konsiliarische Zweitbefundung

Gerade vor dem Hintergrund der integrierten Versorgung wird die selektive Datenkommunikation zwischen kooperierenden Krankenhäusern immer bedeutender. Die Qualität eines unternehmensübergreifenden Behandlungsprozesses ist maßgeblich von dem Datenaustausch der teilnehmenden Institute abhängig.


Vor einer Patientenüberweisung kann es eine nützliche Entscheidungshilfe sein, per Bidlkommunikation eine Expertenmeinung einzuholen. Nach der Überweisung ist die zusätzliche Übermittlung der Bilddaten zur Vervollständigung der Krankengeschichte umso zwingender. Auch unabhängig von einer Überweisung des Patienten können konsiliarische Zweitbefundugen bei unklarem Befund die Qualität des Behandlungsprozesses positiv beeinflussen.

Diesen Anwendungsfällen ist gemein, dass es sich um Organisationsformen handelt, bei denen kein dauerhafter unbegrenzter Zugriff auf die Datenbasis des Partners sinnvoll erscheint.  Vielmehr handelt es sich dabei um Einzelfälle, in denen kurzfristige Entscheidungen getroffen werden müssen. Es gehört also zu den Anforderungen, dass ein Zugriff auch in Einzellfällen möglich ist, und dass das unter Beachtung der unterschiedlichen IT-Strukturen der teilnehmenden Standorte geschieht.

Und genau diesen Anwendungsfall können Sie mit der VivoNet-Adapter Lösung der Digital Medics realisieren. Der VivoNet-Adapter gibt sich gegenüber des Hausnetzes auf Sender- und Empfängerseite als standardkonformer DICOM-Knoten zu erkennen und transferiert zwischen den Teilnehmern über das effiziente VivoNet-Transferprotokoll.

Teilnehmende Partner stellen sich nun hausintern als simple DICOM-Ziele im PACS dar. Der Transfer über verschlüsselte Kanäle und die notwendigen Konvertierungen (DICOM zu VivoNet auf Senderseite und VivoNet zu DICOM auf Empfängerseite) geschehen völlig transparent für den Nutzer.

Kein Eingriff in die IT-Landschaft teilnehmender Kommunikationspartner, keine zusätzliche Sende- und Empfangsoftware auf den Arbeitsstationen der Nutzer. Nutzen Sie die hohe Geschwindigkeit und große Skalierbarkeit der VivoNet-Technologie, ohne viel Zeit in die Systemintegration oder Schulung zu investieren und gehen Sie einen wichtigen Schritt in Richtung “Integrierte Versorgung”.

Verwendete Produkte

Zuweiser

Die reibungslose Auftragsübermittlung und Ergebnisvorlage zwischen Zuweisern und Radiologen spielt eine wichtige Rolle in der Beständigkeit dieser Beziehung. So unterschiedlich die Zuweiser in ihren Ansprüchen sind, so flexibel müssen auch die Möglichkeiten der Anbindung sein.
Ein unkomplizierter schneller Zugriff über den eigenen Praxisrechner sollte genauso Teil des Angebots Ihrer Radiologie sein wie die Anbindung über eine vollwertige VivoLab Workstation. In beiden Szenarien verfügt der Zuweiser zur Auftragserstellung über das VivoNet Webinterface.

Digital Medics bietet Lösungen für alle Ansprüche: Das Spektrum reicht von der Anbindung über den VivoLab Web Viewer über eine dedizierte VivoLab Workstation bis hin zur Anbindung über einen VivoNet-Adapter, der große Datenmengen schnell entgegennehmen und im lokalen Netz verteilen kann.

Verwendete Produkte